Guinea Question?

ameraucanacrazy

Songster
10 Years
Feb 11, 2009
macon,ga
I have 2 violet(1 male, 1 female), a royal purple male, a pearl female, a lavender male, a pied female, a slate female,a dun female, and a coral blue male, and I am new to guineas and i have had them for a year, but have only gotten 7 eggs and none of the eggs hatched. I was wondering how i could get them to lay more eggs next year. I was also wondering what colors I would get if the (pied or dun)and the coral blue had babies. And for the record i do not let them out they stay in a big pen , because i live so close to the road and they tend to play in it. And if anyone has any tips for keeping them out of the road please share them.

thanks

Quote:
I've had at least a dozen guineas get hit by cars, they never learn, they shy away from the road for about 2 days and are right back on it... I eventually put up a 4 foot high woven wire fence. It helps tremendously, not 100%, but at least they just can't all walk out on it from our driveway... once in a while a few will fly over, but never have they all went over... then the ones that flew over pace the fence back and forth trying to get back in the yard...
It helps if you don't have birds who previously were used to going on the road. I noticed my newly released ones (the ones who were never free to just walk down the drive way to the road) were less likely to fly over the fence... or try to get on the road.... as I was beside myself when one day I came home and not one but THREE were laying dead on the road.. that's when I went and spent the $100 for the fence, I didn't have to go more than 50-70 yards down each side of the road, as they typically never range that far, and always just went on the road right by our front yard.
So far so good, as its the only thing I can do other than keep them penned, which defeats the purpose of having them...

Last edited: