1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Handling the Chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Dionna77, Mar 14, 2015.

1. Dionna77

Dionna77 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 1, 2015
    I am new to own baby chicks. I have 3 chicks and I want to get them used to me handling them. Right now when I go to pick them up they freak out and run away and squeak at me. I know it takes time to get them used to being held and used to people. But some one told me that since I have 3 chicks it is going to be harder for me to get used to me and develop a bond with them. I am looking for tips and any ideas of how I can do this.

Thanks,
    Dionna

2. smcdermott

smcdermott Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 9, 2014
    Central Fl
    My kids hold the babies from the day we bring them home. I start off putting some meal worms in my hand and laying it in the bottom of the cage. That way they get used to your hand and presence. I read somewhere that if you make the same sound each time you are around them, it gets them used to you AND relates that sound with food so it will be easier to get them to come when older. So far I have found this to be true. I should say that mine STILL frun from me . They definitely don't come like dogs. Haha
    Good Luck!

3. Dionna77

Mar 1, 2015
    What age can you give treats I some one told me that you shouldn't give them meal worms until they are older is that true just wondered? Also are you giving them live meal worms or dry ones?

Thanks for the advice I will try that helped a lot [​IMG]

4. freenerik

freenerik Out Of The Brooder

Mar 7, 2015