Hare brained idea? Steel coop...

Mikey D

Songster
8 Years
Jul 12, 2011
Apache Junction AZ
Howdy Folks!

I am new to chickens and am anticipating clearance from the control tower to start a small flock in a month or two. I live in beautiful sunny Arizona and love designing and building just about everything. Thing is, building outdoor stuff out of wood is well...

... for the birds.

Silly stuff dries out and blows away in the heat. I have basically stopped building using wood and now prefer the concrete & steel permanence. My question is:

Has anyone any experience building a steel coop?

I figure square steel tubing frame, with welded wire, welded to it and painted would be dandy. Galvanized corrugated steel for the roofing and a side (The AZ coops I've seen so far only have a single side) with an optional surround for the cold weather (doesn't hardly ever freeze but once or twice a year) and maybe break down and use plywood for the nesting boxes (to try to keep the gals cool - a steel nesting box would be more akin to a convection oven for them
wink.png
)

I guess I am only talking about using steel for the framework, doors & such.

All comments are encouraged!

Thanks,

Mikey

Mikey - I don't think it's hair-brained at all. I used an old rusty 8' x 8' steel yard barn for the first 10 years that we had chickens. It worked very well. One modification that I did was to install a second roof about 2" above the original roof. A steel roof deck will transfer heat very efficiently and, as you know, that isn't good in the summer sunshine. I used steel roofing panels and screwed them to the original roof using 2" conduit spacers and 3" long self tapping screws. That reduced the interior temperature by about 25*F in the bright sunlight. Our chickens free range so they really do not spend much time inside the coop.

Quote:
Doopy,