Hatchery w/ Best Dark Cornish

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by bigredfeather, Dec 17, 2010.

1. bigredfeather

bigredfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Yorkshire, Ohio
    I have been considering adding the Dark Cornish to my flock for the last 2 years. I'm thinking this is going to be the year I pull the trigger. I'm not sure if I am going to buy some hatching eggs or buy hatchery stock chicks. I know hatchery stock usually isn't as good as breeder, as hatcheries birds are geared more towards laying.

If you have bought any DC's from a hatchery, please share your opinion on them. If you have butchered them, please share the butchering age, average weights, and your overall satisfaction of the dressed bird. If I can find a hatchery that has decent birds, I would rather buy chicks than eggs from a breeder.

Also, if you know of a breeder that sells eggs or chicks, please inform me.

Thanks.

2. Tiffrz-N-Kidz

Tiffrz-N-Kidz Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 29, 2010
    Aledo, TX
    I got one in my hatchery surprise from Ideal. She weighs 1 pound 13.6 ounces at 10 weeks.

ETA - I think she is a DC. She may be their version of a speckled sussex, but the guy that came to test my flock said DC.

Last edited: Dec 20, 2010
  3. CDennis

CDennis Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 1, 2009
    Idaho
    I didn't even know Ideal had dark cornish! Back to their website!!!

4. knjinnm

knjinnm Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 5, 2010
    Sandia Park, NM
    Al, are you there?

Al is the guy to talk to when it comes to Cornish.

5. al6517

al6517 Real Men can Cook

May 13, 2008
    Wow Lot's of question's Ok I will try.