HE or SHE? A Barred Rock, an Easter Egger, and a Silkie

ClayChicken

In the Brooder
10 Years
Apr 28, 2009
East Tennessee
Our chicks are four weeks old and I believe I have some roos. This IS my first time with chicks, though, so I am hoping for some expert opinions.

My Easter Egger "pullet"... I don't think so, though

My Barred Rock... a little pink on the comb?

My silkie with a... what is that thing?... at 4 weeks

I think these three are roos, but what do you think?

Chickie Mamma

Farmer at Heart
11 Years
Apr 20, 2008
Sherman, CT
Hello, I am not very good at this, but I think you do have all roos. The comb on the EE and barred rock are getting pinkish. I don't see wattles though??
The silkie looks like a roo too. I am sure someone else will have a better idea.

the lemon tree

Songster
10 Years
May 12, 2009
I dunno, I kind of think the BR is a pullet. At 4 weeks, if he was a boy, I'd think there'd be more white barring, indicative of a male. I have a 4.5 week old BR with the same kind of coloring and size/color comb and I'm 99% sure she's a girl.

ETA: The barred chick behind the questionable BR in the 4th picture is most definitely a male. FYI

Last edited by a moderator:

ZZsBabiez

Songster
11 Years
Sep 19, 2008
Central California
Actually, you are kind of lucky with that silkie showing a comb already! I just found out my silkie is a roo today and he was hatched in November!

Southernbelle

Gone Broody
12 Years
Mar 17, 2008
Virginia
My 1st round with EEs - all my sexed pullets had red in their combs at 7 weeks and they were all girls anyway

Usually BR cockrels have lighter feathers and his look quite dark, more like a pullet, but that is a start of a comb, so maybe

Silkies can't be accurately sexed until 4-6 MONTHS, so it will be a long time before you know for sure on that one. They should have a dark purpley mahogany colored comb. And they have walnut combs, which look like a walnut!

ClayChicken

In the Brooder
10 Years
Apr 28, 2009
East Tennessee