Hello All! I'm a newbie from the Western NC mountains

Shelly_WNC

Songster
9 Years
Feb 23, 2010
Pleasant Shade, TN
Hello everyone I'm Shelly ...

I have been reading BYC for a few days now, and LOVE every ones pictures and helpful advice. So I thought it was time to join myself and meet some fellow enthusiasts.

I am completely new to raising chickens and have sooooooooo many questions. I like up in the Western NC mountains (by the Roan mountain) , with my SO and 17 year old son (we have no other pets), and I really want to share my land and time with some good natured chickens. So far I haven't bought any yet. But I have been reading every one's posts on raising new chickens and building coops to get prepared.

Yesterday I built a nesting box (with four nesting areas) to get started - with scrap wood we had. I already have a huge aquarium , heat lamps and thermometers that I figured could be used as a brooder. So, now I just need to decide which breed of chicken I would like and how to keep them safe and healthy. I was thinking a quite docile breed like the buff Orpington might be a good start.

Thank you BYC and members for such a great and active site! I'm so excited to get started *smile*

Hi Shelly! Wow, you're from God's country! How lucky is that? Its just so beautiful up there.
love.gif
welcome-byc.gif
from S. Florida! Its great to have you here with us! You'll just love owning chickens! Enjoy!
D.gif

Hey Shelly,
I'm john way down the hills in the Piedmont (Kernersville)
Welcome! You'll love the folks and their posts here at BYC.