Hello BYC fellow members

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Chikken Framer, Sep 9, 2016.

1. This is my first attempt at raising chickens, I have always wanted to but never had the opportunity until now. My cousin gave me a hen with 8 little chicks that were 5 days old. He also gave me a rooster. I prepared a coop and took them in. I wanted them to be free range so I looked to BYC for advice, and found that it was best to leave them locked up for a few days till they got used to their new home. Well after 3 days the rooster pecked his way out of a screen on the window and I haven't seen him since although I hear him crowing every morning. On the 4th day I let the hen and chicks out and to my surprise she had them back in the coop at 5pm. I am so happy that I have that hen to teach the little ones, she is so protective and watches over them like a hawk, no pun intended. The chicks are growing like bad weeds, I have them on scratch feed, vegetables(from the treat list only) and whatever they get in the yard during the day. So happy I found BYC for all the good advice, thank you !!!

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings, chikkenfarmer, and :welcome. Happy you joined us. Glad your birds (minus the rooster) are returning. One thing in your post...you said the rooster pecked his way of of the screen...if he can get out, things that eat chickens can get in. Would hate to see you lose the whole batch to a raccoon or bobcat some night. You might reinforce the weak areas with home hardware cloth. Good luck to you!

1 person likes this.
  3. CuzChickens

CuzChickens CountryChick

Apr 24, 2016
    Virginia
    Welcome to Backyard chickens Chikken farmer !! I hope you enjoy it and the camaraderie here and everybody that goes nuts over chickens (me being one of them....) Have fun! And ask questions! Redsoxs has a very good point, if the rooster got out, the predators can get in.