Hello Everyone!

TundraGhost

Chirping
Jul 2, 2021
Hello! I joined a while ago but I was too shy to make an introduction lol. My name is Leah, and I'm very new to chicken keeping and only got my first 6 (unplanned) chicks on May 28th, 2021. We got two more on June 29th so they're about 5 weeks apart. I'll go ahead and answer the newbie questions now I guess!

(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
Answered that up in the first paragraph!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
I have 8 right now, 2 roosters and 6 hens. We're trying to figure out what to do with the roo's

(3) What breeds do you have?
The first 6 chickens we got were crosses between Polish and red sex-links I believe. They were given to us randomly by a neighbor who heard we were considering and preparing to get chickens. They were a surprise bunch. The other two came later, one is a White Leghorn and the other is a Rhode Island Red.

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
I love how friendly they are with me, seeing them run to see me when I walk across the yard. Sometimes they sit on my shoulder or back while I do little chicken chores, or on my lap when I'm sitting with them. It's very relaxing listening to their little sounds!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
I like digital drawing, and hope to use it to make some sort of profit one day soon. I typically draw cartoon animals or sometimes characters that I make up. I also play a fair share of video games like Pokemon, Stardew Valley, and Monster Hunter.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
Most of our animals are rescues or were given to us for free because the owner didn't want them or couldn't take care of them. Each of them has their own little interesting story. We have 3 dogs, Boo, and Belle are Terriers, and Chico is a Chihuahua. 2 cats, Turbo and Notch who grew up together, and a ferret named Lilly.