Hello everyone

JJorge

Hatching
5 Years
Sep 11, 2014
Happy October everyone. I finally figured out how to use this a little. I know this probably isnt the best place to write this but... I have a few too many little distractions around here! I am new to chickens just this summer and have already gotten an incredible amount of great information from the awesome people on this site. I do however have a (maybe) silly question for anyone who can help. I had a SLW who had a leg injury and the flock eventually ganged up on her and pecked away at her. I found her before they killed her and have nursed her back to health. It has been over a month and now she is living in her own shed ( my garden shed that I need back)and has been free range during the day. It has worked out well during the summer months. I am outside much of the day and the weather is nice-no extreme temps. Now that winter is close though I am a little worried she will freeze in a shelter if left alone. Our temps in Minnesota are often below 0. The others can huddle together to keep warm. How cold is too cold for a little chicken? She is really small and still not laying. I have debated culling her but really do not want to. Putting her back in with the others is not an option anymore. Any advice would be awesome!

welcome-byc.gif
you may be able to transition her back into the flock by placing her in the coop/run but separated by wire so everyone can get used to being together. I'm not sure that being by herself is a good idea, chickens are flock animals and need to have some friends. You can try posting in your state's thread to see if anyone local can help out, it doesn't get that cold in California so I can't answer that question. Best of luck to you. https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you

welcome-byc.gif
Glad you joined us!

X2 on liz9910's advice. Chickens can usually tolerate the cold well, even down to negative degree temperatures.

Welcome to BYC!
frow.gif