1. Come check out hundreds of awesome coop pages (and a few that need suggestions) in our 2018 Coop Rating Project!

Hello Friends of a Feather

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ramzroost, Nov 20, 2012.

1. ramzroost

ramzroost In the Brooder

Nov 19, 2012
    North Carolina
    I have been hanging out on BYC for months as I began my adventure in raising Chickens. Here's A little background on how it all came to be. I am a happily married with two sons. i am also a school teacher. this spring my class was doing an embryology unit where we hatched quail through our local 4-H program. In addition to the incubator with quail eggs, I had an incubatior of a friend in my classroom. This incubator held a collection of "mystery eggs" , gathered and donated to my classroom for this exciting experience for my students. The catch was they needed a home after they hatched. Of course after taking care of the eggs and being the chick in charge, I fell in love with them and had trouble letting them go. My husband and I had been pondering having a small backyard flock in our future but had definately not this spring. I convinced my husband to let us keep some of them, mainly the ones that we had named already. [​IMG]The others went back to their repective owners. So this spring we decided to build a coop to save a little money. LOL! Um Well, according to my folks we have a chicken condo. We built a 6 by 8 shed which could be "used down the road just in case the chicken adventure didnt go as planned".We also built a very large run in addition to plenty of land to roam around on. Thanks to BYC for all of the helpful advice over the past few months. [​IMG]Our chicks loved their new home. At the time we had 3 Black Copper marans, 2 of which are hens and one of which is a roo. We also have a Poland Rooster and what we think to be a buff orpington hen. We were also given a brahma hen that is 4 weeks older than the ones we hatched. Well that was in May and June. As the