Hello from a newbie in Florida

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Tonopah, Mar 23, 2012.

1. Tonopah

Tonopah Out Of The Brooder

Mar 23, 2012
    Central Florida
    Hello! I just received 4 pullets last weekend. I'm new to chickens. I've wanted them for years. Mister started building a coop for me last summer and finished it a few weeks ago. After a few false starts we finally got the chickens. All of our girls are crosses - and crossed with who knows what. Two are larger, one of whom definitely has Austrolorp(?) in her. The second larger girl probably has Rhode Island Red. The other two are smaller and I think we'll have to wait to make a guess at their lineage.

We bought them from a young girl who started raising poultry after two duck eggs hatched in her classroom and suddenly the teacher didn't know what to do with them. The girl took the duckings home and a backyard poultry family was born. Our four chickens were hatched by a brooding duck. When they were still tiny there was a rainstorm and the duck tried to teach them how to swim, nearly drowning them. The family took the chicks away from the duck mother and now they've come to live with us. I was only going to get three chickens (we live in a suburban area with very close neighbors) but these four girls have been together all their lives. We couldn't leave one out, so they all came home.

I joined BYC because I know I'm going to need alot of help learning to care appropriately for my chickens. I look forward to learning from you all.

2. pfleming

pfleming Out Of The Brooder

Jan 10, 2012
    Northern MN
    HI HI and WELCOME from Northern Minnesota

3. ghillie

ghillie Hen Pecked

Nov 13, 2008
    Colorado Springs, Co
    [​IMG]

4. DDNONIN2016

DDNONIN2016 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2012
    SW Ohio
    Hello and welcome from Ohio....glad you joined us

5. greymane

greymane Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2011
    Snyder County, PA
    [​IMG]

6. FlaRocky