Hello from British Columbia!

ChelseaDagger

In the Brooder
Jan 9, 2016
Port Moody, British Columbia
Hello! I'm Jade, and though I'm new to BYC, BYC isn't new to me. I've been lurking here for years but never really had a lot to say. This is mostly because I don't have any chickens and I'm not really interested in getting chickens any time soon. I've already got five feathery little friends in my life to devote my time and love and effort to, and I think I'd need a bigger house and more free time if I were going to have a chicken room, too. That said, this seems like an okay place to talk about quails.

To keep my intro from being too dry, here is a fun story about some of my quails:

They have about seventeen eggs that probably won't hatch because they were laid 24 November - 26 December and no one started sitting on them regularly until 4 January. The only reason anyone started sitting on them at all is that Basil had to stay overnight at the vet when he was feeling under the weather, and I figured that since he derives such contentment from sitting in his Hello Kitty Egg Basket for five minutes at a time, that having his "security nest" and his girlfriend Ginger with him might help to reduce his stress over being ill and away from home. It really did help, because he sat diligently on his eggs for the entire day, taking breaks only for snacks and medication. When he returned home, I converted a desk into a little hospital chamber for him and put his nest in there.