Hello from Hopkins SC with my pet chickens and ducks

AnimlCrakrAcres

In the Brooder
7 Years
May 15, 2012
This is my first year with any kind of birds, so they are more like pets to me than just live stock. I started in Feb. and so far I have 6 khaki Campbell ducks, 4 pekin ducks, 5 assorted chicks, 5 serama chickens, and one coturnix quail chick. I have been on a vegan diet (I don't eat any thing made with or by any animals) but I am making an exception to my own birds eggs. I also have a mini pot belly pig, three dogs, one cat, four ferrets, one foster dog and one understanding husband. I will also be getting a pygmy goat at the end of the summer, and I hope to get some more coturnix quail and chicks this weekend.
I have never been a bird person but after seeing all the different breeds at the state fair and falling in love with the silkie chickens, I read some chicken books and I got a few birds...then more...then more..and the cuter they were the more I wanted. There is a charm about chickens and they have such funny antics. And my ducks are so soft and sweet, they follow me all around the yard when I am doing work, and sit on my lap when I sit down. My Khaki's are not as friendly because most of them were adults when I got them, but they will still come up to me for food.
Since I have started I have lost three ducks and one quail and both of my silkie chicks, which upsets me the most since silkies were the whole reason I wanted to get into chickens in the first place, I have been very careful with all my birds, raising them in cages and bathtubs in the house then moving them to a barn stall with outdoor pens. I try my best to secure everything against predators and even leave the foster dog out to roam around the barn at night. I still get up and check on everyone during the night. To alleviate some of my anxiety bought a huge homemade cage to let some of the chickens live indoors as pets.