Hello From Ohio

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by CLutze27, Feb 1, 2017.

1. CLutze27

CLutze27 Just Hatched

Feb 1, 2017
    Ohio
    Hello everyone, I'm new here, and wanted to say hi. The flock I've got now is my first attempt at raising chickens. I've got 3 silver laced wyandotte and 3 gold laced, 2 barred rocks a well I'm not sure what she is, but she has feathery feet and is grey with black speckling, and kind of a mutt rooster. Everything going good so far, birds have started laying and everyone appears happy. I will say this though, I'm an HVAC technician by trade and I find my self sitting at night trying to come up with more ways to over engineer the coop with spare parts I've gathered from work. Pleasure meeting all of you and I look forward to learning more about raising my birds and helping where I can. Here is a pic of my room, I think he is pretty cool looking.

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 1, 2017
  2. FoodFreedomNow

FoodFreedomNow Chillin' With My Peeps

Hi and [​IMG] from KY! Glad you joined the BYC community.

You have a nice assortment of breeds - I have a GLW and a SLW, myself, and had a Barred Rock until she tangled with a fox (this girl had attitude). All good layers and full of personality.

That is a very handsome roo...what mix is he?

3. CLutze27

CLutze27 Just Hatched

Feb 1, 2017
    Ohio
    Honestly couldn't tell you. He came as a fertilized egg that a lady my wife works with gave us and we hatched under one of my father in law's hens that was being broody.

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, CLutze27, and [​IMG]! It's great to have you in our community! As a relative newcomer to the chicken game, you might consider spending some time in the Learning Center here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center It is loaded with helpful articles spanning the range of chicken keeping. Best wishes and thanks for joining BYC! [​IMG]