Hello from the Pacific Northwest!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Serendiba, Oct 11, 2012.

1. Serendiba

Serendiba New Egg

Oct 11, 2012
    Hello chicken loving peeps! :)

I am a totally new chicken mom from the Seattle area, and I'm super excited about raising chickens with my family.

About me: I am a full time student working on my masters of science in nursing, and a step-mom to 2 elementary age boys, so basically... I'm super busy all the time! I love photography, coffee, and traveling adventures- my faves are India, Sri Lanka, Czech Republic, and Morocco so far :) And of course, hanging out in our little cozy house watching some netflix on a rainy day (which is everyday for about 8 months here, lol). I've been a city girl my whole life, but always wanted chickens...and finally in my late 20s, fullfilling that dream! :)
    So enough about me-- about my chickens! [​IMG]

I bought 3, 2 week old chicks about 5 weeks ago from a local farmer who breeds chickens. They are supposedly ( I have my suspisions on 1 though, all girls...pullets i think they are called?) They are 1 of each:

-Barred Plymouth Rock
    -White Easter-Egger/Americana
    -Black Australorp (who is clearly now not a black australorp...feathery feet, cochin body, and bright red combs already...eek!... I will do separate post on her (him?)

We have a cute little coop pre-made Ware brand. They live inside now in our guest room, but are moving out next week, and will be free range in the backyard in the day, sleep in the coop at night. I'm a bit worried about wet weather and cold... but from what I've read, I think it'll be ok. Also predators... so any tips are appreciated!

Looking forward to being here and learning from all of you....please excuse my lack of knowledge, but I hope to learn.

Cheers from rainy but cozy Seattle!

2. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    Hello and welcome to BYC [​IMG] Glad you joined us!

3. JNB