1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

hello from va

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by nchelle, Nov 12, 2014.

1. nchelle

nchelle New Egg

Nov 12, 2014
    Hi, I'm new to raising chickens. I have been trying to figure out which ones to choose for me and my family. And how best to start. Help and advice would be really appreciated.

2. N F C

N F C Home in WY Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    Welcome to BYC!

Here are a couple links that will give you a chick selector guide to help you choose which breeds are best for you:
    https://www.mcmurrayhatchery.com/chick_selector.html
    http://www.mypetchicken.com/chicken-breeds/which-breed-is-right-for-me.aspx

This next link will give you tons of information about breeds that you might not find on the above 2 sites:
    http://www.sagehenfarmlodi.com/chooks/chooks.html

BYC has a review section too:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/products/category/chicken-breeds

Hope these help. There's lot to consider when choosing, but it's fun!

If you have questions, feel free to ask.

3. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

NorthFLChick has left you with some great links to follow. It all depends on why you are keeping chickens. I am partial to the Orpingtons...Buff Orpingtons and Black Australorps. Very docile, friendly, great on the laying and are very hardy overall. My Australorps are huge on lap sitting and beg for me to sit with them so they can get on my lap.

Good luck with what ever breed you choose and if you have any questions along the way, feel free to ask. Welcome to our flock!

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013