Hello from West Central Wisconsin

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by JPichler, Jul 25, 2011.

1. JPichler

JPichler Out Of The Brooder

Jul 18, 2011
    West Central, WI
    Hi All,
    I'm finally getting a chance to sit down and write a post to introduce myself. My name is Julie and I live in rural Mondovi, WI. Albany township. I am very new to the wonderful adventure of chickens. My mother-in-law lives across the street from us and she has had chickens for a few years now, so I was introduced to the wonderful taste of farm fresh eggs from her. But with a family of 7, we really needed our own flock to supply our family needs. My husband and I will be married for 12 years next month. We have five beautiful children. 4 girls and one boy. You can see pictures on My BYC Page. You can also see pictures of my husband's master carpenter skills. He build me an amazing chicken coop. Which my lovely chicken ladies really like too.

Since we live in Wisconsin, we wanted to make sure and get cold-hardy chickens. So we have 1 Easter Egger, 2 Silver Laced Wyandottes, 2 Black Autralorps, 5 Buff Orpingtons and 4 Rhode Island Reds. My Easter Egger's name is Esther and I have names picked out, but we will not officially name them until I can get something to help me tell them apart. And when we can say for sure that none of them are rooters. They are 18 weeks old today with the exception of the RIRs which are 15 weeks today.

Other things about me: I stay at home and homeschool my kids; I love to plan and organize, scrapbook, garden and spend time with my family. Recently I have been making those really neat concrete birdbaths made with rhubarb leaves. We are also very interested in becoming more self-sufficient.

We love our chickens and are very happy to finally get our first half dozen eggs this past week. All from just one of my sweet chicken-girls. Not sure which one to thank. Maybe I will catch her sometime soon.