Hello I am New

TOR

Songster
Dec 29, 2020
376
506
163
Wisconsin
I re registered, not sure if I ever posted before.
Hello name is Tim
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?


Used to incubate chickens for my daughter so she could watch, been few years ago now. Did several hatches. We would then give them away. I have been using this site for few years now.
Also raised chickens back in the 80s for eggs and meat.

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
Couple years ago we bought chickens and have kept some (lost some). Then we bought more this last year. We have about 18 chickens and they free range, Lost a couple australorps 2 weeks ago. Ranger died a week ago unknown why. Maybe got into something in the barn and ate something it should not.

(3) What breeds do you have?
silkie, red ranger, brahma, australorps 1 silkie rooster and 1 brahma rooster rest hens.
Silkies are my daughters chickens.
We had 6 cochins sold those and 6 rangers we sold.

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
having them around, eggs, butchered some, sold some chickens.
Possible may buy extra coming year and sell them. Seems to be a market for the chickens, but not alot money to be made.
Have to laugh sometimes watch the silkie rooster wanting to be the boss, good thing its fast and nimble and knows where to go to get away from the brahma rooster.
Otherwise they all get along, the silkie has it girls and the brahma has its girls and they are happy.


(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
we have a garden in summer also plant little more than acre sweet corn, we freeze, eat and sell it. We also usually have couple or 3 pigs. This last year we did not have any pigs. Stuff sure is screwed up with the pandemic.
Having some of the original older farm buildings and older farm equipment for hobby farming never ending always something.

I have a old cast iron burr grinder I bought at a auction many years ago, so I grind my own corn and mix it with soy bean meal.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
3 of us Me wife daughter
(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community? :D

Been using this site for long time.
 

Fishychix

🐠🐣
Premium Feather Member
May 20, 2020
4,097
21,745
796
NE Ohio
1609301455786.gif
or
1609301603932.gif


Whichever fits. 🤣🤣
 

New posts New threads Active threads

Top Bottom