Hello - Just Getting Started

Berkley

Chirping
6 Years
Jun 27, 2013
I've been here reading info off and on, and will probably be a lot more now. We just got a small farm here in Central Kentucky, and I am planning to build a chicken coup in about a month. ( Have to fix some other things first. ) I've been checking into what type would best suit my needs, how many, proper feed, ideas for a coup, care etc... My better half raised chickens when she was younger, so it is easy for her, but I am new to this and trying to learn everything I can.

I'm thinking it would be best to start out with three or four, and I'm leaning towards the Foghorns for White eggs, and Rhode Island Reds for brown eggs.I don't know about the Leghorns though, since everyone says they're so flighty. I want a decent white egg producing type, but am still looking into the others. I'm pretty certain the Rhode Island Reds are what I want for the brown eggs. Still checking into the coup designs, as the farm is in an area with a lot of coyotes and fox, We have already seen three fox, in about three to four weeks. They weren't on our land, but a few miles away while driving out there. I know seeing a fox is pretty rare, so seeing three in the general area makes me think I better make the coup pretty sound. Anyway, those are my thoughts, and just wanted to say hi.

Greetings from Kansas, Berlkley, and
welcome-byc.gif
! Happy you joined us! Leghorns and RIRs are both great to get you going. On your coop make sure you invest in hardware cloth rather than chicken wire. Beside foxes, raccoons, coyotes, and dogs can penetrate chicken wire pretty easily. Good luck to you!