Hello to all Members of BYC from sunny Portugal

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ValedasLascas, Sep 3, 2014.

1. ValedasLascas

ValedasLascas Out Of The Brooder

Sep 3, 2014
    Ladoeiro, Portugal
    [​IMG]

Hi Everyone

I am new to backyard chickens and want to say Hi to everyone.

We have a small farm in Portugal called Vale das Lascas (web site will hopefully be up and running next week).

We have several different kinds of chickens and waterfowl, turkeys, quails, pheasants, guinea fowl etc. and I have been raising chickens for several decades (not telling how many). We also have goats, sheep, piggies and three dogs.

There is a saying where we live that we only have two seasons a year and It is either very hot or very cold but we do not have snow. Obviously this causes its own problems with my flock.

Running a small farm you get lots of livestock problems and I have found your threads very interesting. You also get the enormous blessings from always having baby animals running around.

Well bye for now.

Vale das Lascas, Portugal[​IMG]

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

So glad you could join our community!! Sounds like you have all the poultry! Yes, we have places like that here in the US too....from the freezer to the frying pan and back again. Ha!

Make yourself at home here and if you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Welcome to our flock!

3. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC. Glad you decided to join our flock. You have a beautiful Red Sex Link hen in your picture. Red Sex Links are egg laying machines. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Do you have any other kind of chickens besides Red Sex Links.

4. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio