Hello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by crzychcklady, Apr 1, 2017.

1. crzychcklady

crzychcklady New Egg

Apr 1, 2017
    Virginia
    Hello from Va. I'm pretty new at this chicken raising thing so I am still learning. I started with 4 laying hens. Lucy, Myrtle, Gemma, and Lulu. Lucy was my sweet RIR who saw me as her momma. She would sit on the front porch with me and we would "talk" while I drank my morning coffee. Unfortunately she was savagely murdered by a neighbor's dog who took her out of her coop. A few weeks later, the same dog was at large again and once again brutally murdered my fluffy butt Myrtle. My heart is saddened at their passing. I have 4 five week old chicks soon transferring outside. They are LadyBird, Vanity, Mango, and the last has no name because we aren't quite sure if it is a Roo or not. But that's my girls! I just purchased an EcoGlow heater so more new babies are in my future!!! I'm glad to be here and learn so much from you all!

2. chicken420

chicken420 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 18, 2017
    Northern va
    That dog needs punished :( hello from northern va!

3. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - thanks for joining us. For sure, the dog issue needs to be addressed if you are to protect yourself from further losses.

Best wishes
    CT

1 person likes this.
  4. crzychcklady

crzychcklady New Egg

Apr 1, 2017
    Virginia
    We called animal control and they set a trap for a while. We have since purchased a trail cam but nothing yet :(

5. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, crzychcklady, and [​IMG]! Great to have you in our flock! Sorry to hear about your losses! [​IMG] Have you sought any restitution from your neighbor for not containing or controlling their dog? I wish you better success with your future flock!
    Thanks for joining BYC!! [​IMG]

6. Teila