Help!! Day 6. Can’t tell if my eggs are fertile!

Louchick23

Chirping
Mar 17, 2020
D6A42D0D-CCC5-47EF-8862-1CBBC96E49E3.jpeg

Hi! I am new to egg incubating and I can’t tell if my eggs are fertile. Here is a photo of one of my chicken eggs at day 6. I can tell there is a opaque dark spot. I am still not sure if this is a good sign because I read that you should see visible spider veins in the eggs. I still have a tiny bit of hope because my eggs are brown. So far I can not see any veins in all eggs. Do you guys think that this dark spot is a good sign?

:welcome :frow You should be able to see some veins. I usually wait until at least day 10 and then you may see the embryo moving. They rest quite a bit too. Good luck and have fun...

You should be able to see some veins. I usually wait until at least day 10 and then you may see the embryo moving. They rest quite a bit too. Good luck and have fun...
That’s so cool!! !Thanks so much for the help! I’ll check my eggs when they are on day 10. I hope I’ll see something...:rolleyes::rolleyes::barnie

You might need a better flashlight. What is your temp and humidity? Do you have a calibrated thermometer?
My temp spiked today up to 109 degrees. I think it will ok because it lasted for about 3 minutes. My humidity averaged around 52 and my temp was around 100. I was using an iPhone flashlight because I don’t have a proper egg candler. I currently have two digital thermometers in my incubator that are not calibrated. Is there any way I can calibrate my digital thermometers?

I have posted this before. I hope it will help you. Also, I think your humidity is a little high. I try to keep mine <40%. That is when I have had my best hatch rates.