Help! Eight chickens just dissappeared

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by alex-w, Mar 30, 2012.

1. alex-w

alex-w New Egg

Mar 30, 2012
    I am a new chicken farmer that really does not know much yet. I had 8 four week old chickens in a large chicken tractor type coop and when I got home this morning I found the door open and all of them gone. The wire holding the door to the outside coop closed was broken, and the door partially open. We have a dog tha has been very interested in them, but I cant see her killing all 8 and leaving no signs. How far will chickens run if they get out? Is there any chance any may have survived? I have looked all over our three acre place and roamed parts of the neighboring land and see no signs of feathers or anything. My three your old is going to be heartbroken!

2. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner True BYC Addict

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    :frow Welcome to the forum! :frow Glad you joined us, just wish it were under better circumstances. :frow

Eight 4 week olds all gone without a trace and the door ripped open. Probably happened overnight. That eliminates some things, but there is still a pretty good list of possible suspects.

I have had a hen come back the next morning after a dog attack in mid-afternoon. I have no idea where she spent the night, but she was wanting back with her buddies the next morning. From what you describe, I would not hold out much hope, but there is a possibility. If it happened at night, they probably could not see to get to safety. I wish I could be more positive.