Help ID these ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by shmccarthy, Sep 19, 2013.

1. shmccarthy

shmccarthy Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 27, 2013
    Michigan
    At the mill pond today, I saw a lot of really pretty ducks. I never had ducks so I have no idea what breed they are and I was hoping some of you could help me figure out what these guys are? I plan on getting ducks sometime in the future, and I would like to get some of whatever these guys are.
    [​IMG]
    Photo 1 I really like the one on the right :)
    [​IMG]
    Photo 2 I also thought the white colored one in the middle with the dark bill was really pretty
    [​IMG]
    Photo 3 The black duck in the middle also, this is the closest this one would get and I really liked this one too. It was a lot smaller than the first pictures ones.
    [​IMG]
    Photo 4 Lastly this one on the left

Any guesses?

2. Veer67

Veer67 Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm not an expert on ducks but the black one looks like a Cayuga, the buff colored ones are Fawn and White Runners.

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    In photo 1 might the one on the right be a magpie?

4. shmccarthy

Mar 27, 2013
    Michigan
    Thanks for taking the time to answer! I searched those breeds and they look like the ducks I saw today. :) I'm thinking someone must've released them there...definitely not michigan ducks haha

5. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Lovely ducks. Are there people in your are who rescue dumped domestics? That would make a big difference in the likelihood of them surviving.

Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  6. shmccarthy

Mar 27, 2013
    Michigan