Help I'm new to broodyness.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by TexasChickenLady, Oct 27, 2008.

1. TexasChickenLady

TexasChickenLady Out Of The Brooder

Jul 24, 2008
    Pampa, Texas
    I have a hen who will be a year old at easter, she's been on her nest for about a week, I counted today and she's sitting on 15 eggs. I've made sure she has food and water right in front of her, I'm not sure what to do. Now that's she's been on the nest, egg production has gone way down. I have 12 hens. And I've gone from 11 eggs a day to 6. I want her to hatch her babies but I'm not sure what I need to be doing. Any advice?

2. KellyHM

KellyHM Overrun With Chickens

Sep 10, 2008
    Lakeland, FL
    Just let her sit and check on her to make sure she doesn't give up too early. Make sure food and water is close by so she doesn't have to go too far. And make sure your other hens aren't "hiding" their eggs under her! 2 of my EEs have been laying under my broody Silkie, so I have to dig out their eggs every day! [​IMG]

3. vfem

vfem Yoga...The Chicken Pose

Aug 4, 2008
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    Believe it or not, my silkie is over stuffed with 3 duck eggs (was 4) but every morning when I got to collect eggs from my other 2 layers... they are both under her!!! They lay them in another nesting, I know for sure... and she goes and steals them and bring them into her box. When they wanna hatch eggs, they NEED to hatch every egg they can get under them! LOL [​IMG]

Just do as you've been doing... they really do know what to do for themselves.

4. trishok8

trishok8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2008
    Scituate
    Broodiness is contagious.