Help...is my little girl sick?!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Brendaleann, Feb 21, 2013.

1. Brendaleann

Brendaleann New Egg

Feb 21, 2013
    Hi, I am pretty new to a small (7) backyard flock of hens. 2 Buff Orpingtons, 2 Barred Rocks, 2 Sex Links, and 1 Easter Egger. All but 2 have recently started laying, and we are loving it! I am concerned that we might have a sick girl and I need some help or advise since I am so new to this.

One of our Buff Orpingtons has started acting very strange. For 2 days now she has not wanted to come down off the roost when all of the others are chomping at the bits to get out into the run first thing in the morning. When she does come down, she goes straight over to a small wagon that is in the run and she hides under it, and barely comes out. I thought at first maybe she was injured because she is favoring one leg over the other. Also her inner eyelid the one that is white is staying shut most of the time. We picked her up and checked her out and there is no visible scratches or injuries to her eye or leg. We did notice her gums are a little white, but other then that she is healthy looking. When I put her down the main hen attacked her, and I've noticed our girl who is 2nd in command has been picking on her as well. She seems very afraid and gets nervous when the others approach her. Her favorite friend in the flock seems to be worried and watching out for her, so I know something is up. I don't really know what to do. I know she can't be getting enough food or water even though I keep putting it near her. Any advise at all would be appreciated.

2. rachlore

rachlore Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2012
    Southern US