Help. My hen and her one egg.

Drummondchick

Chirping
Feb 27, 2018
Hi, I'm new to having chickens and try and read as much as possible on BYC but need some advice please.....I got one hen and one beautiful rooster and five young chicks, I was getting one egg every day from Catherine (the hen) and then one morning I went to collect my egg and Catherine wouldn't budge. I've left her, it's now day 22 or 23, I candled the egg and can't see any life in the egg, I know I must remove it but do I chase her out the coop and not let her nest for the day or remove the egg and just leave her. My chickens aren't free range, far too many predators. I'm in South Africa.

That's tough. It's going to take some time to break her of her "broody duty". The quickest way would probably be throwing some day olds under her. Not sure if you want more chickens. If you don't, she'll eventually figure out no chicks are coming and give up...eventually.

I’d leave it at least until the 25th day. This far along, it’d be hard to see anything moving inside the egg. I had some eggs that got chilled for over 5 hours when my broody left the nest when one of the chicks fell out and I couldn’t see any movement in the 4 eggs. I still put them in the incubator and gave them those extra days. 2 out of the 4 hatched.

I’d give it time. Sometimes they’ll know if the egg is bad or not and will decide for you.

No I didn't candle before. It has a largish air sack and I can't see any blood vessels or moving dark areas in the egg. I will get the egg and chase her off and close the coop door during the day.

I'd give her another couple of days. I've regularly had eggs hatch 2 full days early under a broody hen, others have had eggs hatch two or three days late. under a broody. That 21 day thing is more of a target than a law of nature. I don't always see movement when I candle, even in a pretty late egg. If it is dark throughout with a clear air cell give it a chance.