HELP! my hen sunburnt and pecked

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by fawkestheman, Aug 19, 2014.

1. fawkestheman

fawkestheman Chillin' With My Peeps

so I'm new to BYC and i have a flock of 10 maybe 9 hens and possibly 3 roosters and after my bantam who always got picked on went broody in april, and we removed her, the girls started picking on Dusty. She had a bald back, red and bloody. we didn't know what to do and waited a week until we got tiny, sill less and combo of both eggs. we examined her closely and found a long gash from top of tail to vent. it was deep and we wondered if shed survive. we moved her to my garage and cleaned off her gash and back, applying ointment twice daily for a month. finally the gash healed but the feathers weren't growing back but we figured it was ok to let her forage with the flock and bring her to the garage at night. a month later, june, we moved her back to the coop with shoots of feathers growing. but they got pecked off again and summers are so busy we haven't tended to it. now her back is a little bloody, sunburnt and bald and we don't know what to do if we should let her live inside the house to recover or what. please respond asap as we have to leave till sunday tomorrow and don't know if she should come

2. Michael OShay

Michael OShay Chicken Obsessed

May 14, 2014
    Montana
    Welcome to BYC! Glad you decided to join our flock. I'm sorry to hear about Dusty. I would recommend posting this on our Emergencies, Diseases, Injuries, and Cures section at https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/10/emergencies-diseases-injuries-and-cures and seek some answers and advice from our experts who frequent that section. Please feel free to ask any questions you may have. We are here to help in any way we can. Good luck with Dusty.

3. Michael OShay

May 14, 2014
    Montana