1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Help!! Only 50% hatch rate.

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by ChickenFarm333, Apr 5, 2016.

1. ChickenFarm333

ChickenFarm333 New Egg

Apr 5, 2016
    I am relatively new to this incubating and hatching game. This is probably the 6th time I have incubated and hatched chicken eggs and I have 22 out of 40 eggs hatched. Of those 22 I had to help out 4, of which 2 look to be ok. The others have the sticky membrane stuck to all parts and I might have to step in again. Anyway, I have a Hovabator with automatic egg turner and air circulating fan. Temp has been fairly steady but at 99.5 usually but with this last hatch I had some spikes to 102! When I open up the eggs after I have removed the others, I have noticed that most of them have formed in the egg but have died partway through the incubation process. What am I doing wrong? Any tips would be appreciated. I followed to the letter the instructions that came with the bator re humidity. I tried a dry hatch of 10% during incubation and 50% at lockdown. This last time I did around 25% for incubation and 50-55% for lockdown. This last hatch was my best yet which doesn't seem to be great. These eggs are fertile. They come from my own barnyard flock, a mixed group of interesting looking chickens. One rooster for 9 hens and every egg I have ever checked has been fertile.

2. caesargirl

caesargirl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2015
    Unity, Maine
  3. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY