help with young cochin

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by itay, Dec 31, 2010.

1. itay

itay Out Of The Brooder

Oct 26, 2010
    Israel
    Dear Friends,
    I would like to ask your help.
    it is my first time growing cochins (I had only pekins until today). I've nice white cochin LF , 2 months old.
    they are not so strong yet , very gentle and requires special attention.
    at the last 2 weeks , the young cockerel make me worry. his wattles developed like it full of liquid , I never saw something like that.
    it is my first cochin , can someone tell me please if it normal ?

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=204705&l=678a9e053e&id=100001333385717

regards
    Itay

2. lilcrow

lilcrow Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2009
    New Vienna, Ohio
    Hummmmm............no, that's not normal, but I don't know what the problem is. I've never seen anything like that. Very odd. He's VERY cute! Wait a bit and maybe someone with more experience will have an answer.
    Nancy

3. Knock Kneed Hen

Knock Kneed Hen California Dream'in Chickens

Feb 15, 2010
    So. Cal.
  4. ChickenCanoe

ChickenCanoe Chicken Obsessed

Nov 23, 2010
    St. Louis, MO
    I don't know but I have two cochins that are 12 weeks and wattles are still small. I'll try to post a pic.

5. itay

itay Out Of The Brooder

Oct 26, 2010
    Israel
    Quote:thanks,
    sure , he is separated already , 24 hours hit-lamp , and I hope that he is o.k

6. lilcrow

Apr 13, 2009
    New Vienna, Ohio
    Any changes?

7. PepsNick

PepsNick Back to Business

May 9, 2010
    Egglanta, GA
    Please fill out.

1) What type of bird, age and weight.
    2) What is the behavior, exactly.
    3) How long has the bird been exhibiting symptoms?
    4) Are other birds exhibiting the same symptoms?
    5) Is there any bleeding, injury, broken bones or other sign of trauma.
    6) What happened, if anything that you know of, that may have caused the situation.