Hen Attack!

krturpie

Songster
12 Years
Nov 11, 2007
Maryland
Ok. I confess that I'm a newbie to chicken behavior. So, it should not be surprising that I'm stumped on this one. Advice of greater experience here would be appreciated.

We had a ~4 mo old pullet go very lethargic with very runny stools. We decided to separate her from the flock while we figure out what was going on. She seemed to be doing much better the next day, so we brought her back to the flock.

However, the, shall we say eldest, pullet charged her almost the moment we had set the ~4 mo old down, and careened right into her. This wasn't a threat or a nasty peck. She went for her head and neck, digging deep into feather and shredding with a vicious ferocity.

What happened? They were getting along fine and, in fact, these two were relatively close before. I don't get it.
hu.gif

Anyway, the only thing I can think of doing is to slowly introduce the 4 mo. back into the flock, starting with bringing her within sight a couple of times a day for a few days then letting her walk around in the run for short stints. Better suggestions would be greatly appreciated...

Can you put her into a smaller cage within the coop. That way she'll be exposed to them yet protected. Keep her that way for maybe a week and see how it goes. Looks like someone wants to be on top of the pecking order!

I would take the mean hen out, and put the pullet back in...see how the rest of the flock gets along with her. If everything goes well....keep the mean hen out for a few days...then place her back in. She will lose her "top dog" place...and should behave better afterwards. Just watch them tho...she might just be determined to keep her position.

yeah, what they sais, above
smile.png