hen sitting on eggs, in the open in my garden in 100 degree heat!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by milo2145, Aug 9, 2010.

1. milo2145

milo2145 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 29, 2010
    huntsville texas
    What do I do!!, I have no experience in this.

I noticed my austrolorp hen was missing about 3 weeks ago, and have been looking for her, I noticed her coming out to eat about once a day, so I was pretty sure she was sitting on eggs somewhere, she is really young, as are all my hens, I do have a rooster - they are all about 5 months old.

I finally found her nest today, it has been really hot here, so I have not been gardening very much and it had got jungle like, but with the heat it is dying back, and her nest of EIGHTEEN EGGS (!!!) is right in the middle of my garden, with no cover at all, it is reeeaaally hot here and I was wondering what to do with her, should I leave well alone?, I have 3 dogs which I am sure know where she is and have not bothered her as yet, would the eggs even be viable at her age and in this heat?

thanks experts!

2. ADozenGirlz

ADozenGirlz The Chicken Chick[IMG]emojione/assets/png/00ae.png

Oct 18, 2009
    Connecticut
    Quote:I'm sure the eggs will be fine. The mama hen is in charge of regulating the temperatures, so they're probably just fine. 17 seems like an awful lot of eggs!

I would make sure she's getting enough water and food as a matter of priority. And I would worry about predators to be sure. See if you can move her and the eggs at night to a more secure location (she's less likely to put up a fuss at night time). If you have a broody pen, that would be ideal (if you can make one, that'd be good too). I can't believe something hasn't gotten to her yet, that's a miracle.

Good luck and keep us posted!

Last edited: Aug 9, 2010
  3. BackToMyRoots

BackToMyRoots Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 29, 2010
    Matthews, NC
    Wow, that's amazing! I'm so glad you found her before something else did!

4. saylernsaxonsmom