Hens Have Fatty Chest bulges

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Hollyjane, Sep 10, 2010.

1. Hollyjane

Hollyjane New Egg

Sep 7, 2010
    Ok, so I'm totally new to the backyard chicken thing. I got my first flock this spring, and my hens are laying eggs. I have been giving them the proper feed at the proper times, and when the first egg showed up in the coop, I built nesting boxes, started giving them pellets, grit, and oyster shell. The problem I'm having is that even before the first egg showed up, I'd occasionally pick up and pet the ladies just so they could get to know and trust me. It was about a month ago that I noticed that there was a kind of squishy bulge on their chests...I didn't know what it was, and I didn't think it was anything to be concerned about since they all had it. Now that I've started feeding them the pellets, grit, oyster shells, these bulges are much bigger, and even lop-sided. I am concerned that this could be a bad sign. A day or two after switching to pellets, I did notice a change in their "elimination". Some of it was looser than normal, it was distinctively larger, and there was more of it. I passed that off as normal because the same thing happened to my bulldog when I switched his food. It's the lop-sided chest bulges that I'm really worried about. Should I call a vet?

Holly

2. Sir Birdaholic

Sir Birdaholic Night Knight

The crop is what you're feeling. It's on the right side of the chest. They store food for processing there. NO WORRIES!!

Forgot.... [​IMG]

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2010
  3. walkerkm

walkerkm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 21, 2009
    Ma
    That's their stomach or chicken term crop... I tought the same thing when i first got my 1st hens... I thought it was a tumor.

4. Minniechickmama

Minniechickmama Senora Pollo Loco

Sep 4, 2009
    Minnesota