Hey there, newbie here

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by really4me, Mar 2, 2015.

1. really4me

really4me Out Of The Brooder

Mar 2, 2015
    I'm a one year backyard caretaker but new to your group. I only have 3 and 3 more peepers to join my flock, staying warm under their heat lamp. I like variety so I have all different girls and NO roosters. My 3 girls that are laying are all 10- 11 months old now. I have a buff Orpington, an Australorp and an Araucana. My 3 new peepers are a lace winged Wyandotte, a Barred Rock and a Black Sex Link. I have named all of course and weigh eggs daily, no double yolks yet but my Buff, Henretta, lays eggs the size of duck eggs on occasion.
    Guess you could say I'm becoming obsessed?? No, but really, I love this new hobby and the fresh eggs to use in my cake decorating are a nice thing to have on hand.

Any proven methods for picking Hens? I still want to get a couple more chicks. Off to Monday's routine, bye

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    Welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined our community.

3. TooManyChix

TooManyChix Out Of The Brooder

Dec 24, 2014
    I have had chickens for about 15 years. I picked layers with colors and general appearance I liked, and I somehow ended up with mostly breeds that liked to go broody. Then I went through a "rare and unusual" breeds phase. These days I try to stay with breeds that are friendly, like Cochins. I find that the Spanish breeds are a bit flighty but are good foragers. I have always bought sexed day old hatchery chicks, but they are not 100% accurate, so now I have a few roosters and some interesting mixes.

4. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC! [​IMG]I'm glad you joined our community.