Hi Everyone

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by comfy66, Nov 19, 2014.

1. comfy66

comfy66 New Egg

Nov 19, 2014
    Hi Everyone
    This is my first time posting as I have only just joined.
    I am currently looking after 5 chicks in there incubator,
    They are 3 weeks old now, and on reading the posts I see I need to be slowly lowering the temperature.
    I am going to have a look around for advice on how to do this.
    Plus I am trying to design a new outside area for them.
    We currently have a good size egloo house for them, but I am looking to extend the space they have, so will be looking for some designs on how to set it out.
    I have already seen I need to build them perches, which our previous chicken's did not have.
    I am really enjoying looking after them, and they are getting used to being handled, as I dont want them to be scared of us BIG people,
    Any advice anyone has would be brilliant.

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome to BYC![​IMG] We're glad to have you.

For information on renovating your Eggloo, check out the Coops section:Coop Designs

There may be some good ideas there. You can also post about it in the Coop Construction forum, here: Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance

I don't know what heating system you're using, but if you're using a heat lamp, the best way to lower the temperature is to raise the lamp a bit each week. You want it to decrease by about 5 degrees each week, until it reaches about 70 degrees F.

Good luck with your flock!

Last edited: Nov 19, 2014
  3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/housing-and-feeding-your-chickens

Hi :welcome

Glad you joined the flock. Hope you find the above usefull for coop designs and outside area for them. I would make sure any area you make for them is predator proof.