Hi from Somerset, England

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by ChickenDayz, Aug 1, 2011.

1. ChickenDayz

ChickenDayz Out Of The Brooder

Aug 1, 2011
    Mudford
    I'm fairly new to all this... (keeping Chickens I mean!) I rehomed 3 hens back in November and now I have 4 ten week old black rock youngsters that one of my hens hatched out back in May... I didn't realize back then that Black Rocks don't breed true, however they are beautiful ... and all have different markings... and one is definitely a cockerel... I do live in a village but im not sure how long it'll be after he starts crowing that the neighbors will complain... so he might have to be rehomed... [​IMG]

I have a Barnvelder, Speckledy and a White Sussex.... and I am hooked on Chickens [​IMG]

Unfortunately I have not yet worked out how to load images from my ipad to these forums ... but I do have a blog:

http://chickendayz.blogspot.com/

Which has plenty of photo's..

My big girls live in an Eglu Cube and the 4 youngsters live in a classic eglu ( both bought second hand on eBay!) and they have full range of my garden although they are separated at the moment until the little-uns are of a similar size to the others to hopefully give them a better chance of integration...

I am a mother of 2 (13 yr old daughter and 5 yr old son) and i'm lucky enough to be a stay at home mum... my partner has surprisingly gotten much more into chicken owning than cat owning... he dislikes the cat intensely.... but she's a great mouser so she earns her keep! ;D We also have a Spingador (cross between a chocolate Labrador and springer spaniel) and there are murmurs of a new dog to be added to our family...

I have already put my mind at rest many times with the help of all you wonderful people here on BYC and I thank you for all your help so far... Alexandra.... (Alex to her friends.... and that means all you guys!xx)

Last edited: Aug 1, 2011
  2. texasgal

texasgal Brood with an Attitude

Apr 18, 2009