hi im new...and nervouse

orlandoluv1

Songster
11 Years
Mar 20, 2008
spring valley , CA
well let me start by saying that i am hatching eggs for the first time. I bought one of those incubators that hold 3 chicken eggs. its very small and cheap but i figured since i am a full time student on line and a stay at home mom i had the time to focus on the incubator. So far they all look to be developing very nice but i have to say i am very nervouse. I am thinking about purchasing a better more expensive incubator for next time. if anyone has any suggestions that would be great. i am looking to spend about 200-300 dollars next time. i am farely new to hatching but i have raised chickens through most of my childhood. my grandfather had a farm and he would alwasy bring me the babies that were hurt or something so i could make them healthy again and then he would take them back. i really loved that time in my life and i want to share that experince with my son. i know he would love it just as much as i did. i am currently trying to hatch 3 silkies so we will see if my good fortune continues. like i said if anyone has any suggestions on my current incubator or the purchase of a better one that would be great. i am having trouble keeping the temperature consistent but i monitor them about every half hour and most of the time i can keep it at 100 but sometimes it fluctuates. the heat is there from a small lightbulb (like i said a cheap little incubator)well thank you for reading and i hope to get to know everyone better through this fun and exciting process:D

hi and welcome.
frow.gif

Welcome to BYC!

Don't be nervous! Roll up your sleeves and dive in! We won't bite!

I wish you much luck and will be interested to see your hatch. It is very hard to control the temps and humidity in those little things. If you are holding in there with it you are doing a fine job!

You have a nice budget for a new incubator!