1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

hi.. new and have an urgent question..

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jojo83, Mar 19, 2015.

1. jojo83

jojo83 New Egg

Mar 19, 2015
    South Wales Tredegar
    Hi.. I'm Jo from South Wales UK.. I'm VERY new to this but have done lots of reading. I ordered an incubator, 6 magpie duck eggs and chick crumb along with a brooding box... I thought they would all come together.. Or even the incubator first... But I've just received the eggs.. Like now.. What am I going to do until the incubator arrives? Any help would be really appreciated. Thanks in advance xx

2. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome Jo from Yorkshire UK

Glad you could join the flock! You will need to store these eggs untill your incubator arrives. Store them in the cartons pointy end down some where cool but not the fridge. When your incubator arrives you will need to run it for at least 24 hours to make sure it's up to temp and humidity is ok before setting the eggs. Hopefully the delay should not affect the eggs. Check out this link for some great information on incubating https://www.backyardchickens.com/a/hatching-eggs-101

Good luck and hope you enjoy BYC :frow

3. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Welcome! [​IMG]I'm glad you joined our BYC "flock"!

You've received some good advice from Yorkshire Coop. Ideally, you want to store the eggs in a place between 50 and 60 degrees F. Hopefully, your incubator arrives soon!

Last edited: Mar 19, 2015
  4. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life Out of the Woods Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us!

5. Chicken Girl1