Hi thanks for letting me join

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Tompest1, Sep 19, 2016.

1. Tompest1

Tompest1 New Egg

Sep 19, 2016
    Aintree Liverpool
    I'm new to all this, the story is , I was given 4 coternix quail who haven't stopped laying, so I bought a incubator picture of it below to try and hatch a few chicks, I keep the temperature at 38.8 ? , I must be doing something wrong , people say it takes 18 days incubation but nothing ever hatches on the 18th day , and there are chicks in the eggs as well , on the 23 day I'll open the eggs to see and the chicks are live and when I open them I feel so sorry for the chicks as they have all been alive when I've looked in the egg the chick then dies on me , can anyone help my daughter is so upset with me she blames me as well so the pressure is on me to try and have one hatch ,
    Thanks
    [​IMG]

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
  3. CuzChickens

CuzChickens CountryChick

Apr 24, 2016
    Virginia
    Welcome to Backyard chickens!! I hope you enjoy it and the camaraderie here and everybody that goes nuts over chickens (me being one of them....) Have fun! And ask questions! Check out our learning center! It has loads of helpful info!

https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

I agree with Ken, try posting in the quail page.

4. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, Tompest1, and :welcome. Happy you joined our community! Hope you get your hatching issues worked out. Best of luck to you!

5. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    Hello and Welcome to BYC.

So sorry about your hatching issue.

I have no experience with quail or hatchings, but did a quick search and found a similar incubator on Amazon - it got 50% terrible reviews stating it does not work with late losses of all embryos :(