1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Hi There Everyone

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MarissaC, Dec 12, 2011.

1. MarissaC

MarissaC Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 12, 2011
    Near Waco, TX
    My name is Marissa and I live by Waco, TX. Just moved to Texas about two months ago (from Montana) with my husband and so far I like it. I'm a fine art photographer...but alas, who isn't nowadays? I've been in a couple of galleries around the nation, been in a couple magazines, hopefully that will all pick up soon! I'm also a video game developer (sort of). I turn 21 on December 17, but I'm straight edge (no tobacco, no alcohol), sooo...21 isn't a big deal. My husband is an evangelist and does business development for a video game company (it's pretty cool).

Onto the good stuff!
    I have quite a few chickens. My favorites are my silkies, Icelandics (just recently got those, yay), and...probably the Silver Laced Wyandottes. I had a really sweet White Crested Black Polish (would follow me around, jump in my lap, all that jazz), but he just recently passed away. My first two chickens were Araucanas (excuse my spelling) named Waldo (hen) and Spot (rooster). I just hatched my first chick (from artificial incubation) a few days ago. It was pretty exciting! I'm hoping to start going to poultry shows soon. I don't know if I want to compete, but I'm very interested in the show itself.

I have four pygmy goats. They're not pure, but I love them anyways. I have quite a few peafowl (pieds, Indian Blues, and whites), pheasants (Alaskan Snow and Ringneck), and one pig.