High velocity eggs!?

becstalls

Crowing
13 Years
May 22, 2010
Indiana, PA
Hi all. I'm new to the BYC world, and just started my first flock this past spring. My ladies are finally laying
wee.gif
but there seems to be a problem with cracking. Many of the eggs are turning out to have a small somewhat circular crack at one end. I've been mixing oyster shell into their feed since I started them on a layer feed mix (half layer feed, half grower until they started laying last week, now all layer) so they are getting calcium. Maybe it's not enough? Or is their not enough padding in their nest boxes? I try to put a nice cushion of pine shavings in, but they scratch it all out, even though there's a lip. I don't want my eggies being cracked anymore!
he.gif
Can somebody tell me what the best fix is? I have no idea what to do.
idunno.gif

Also, how long will these cracked eggs keep? Should I try to store them at all or eat them same day?
Thanks in advance!

How big are your nests? And how many nests do you have for how many chickens? I have 5 layers, and they use two nests. I have had good luck with small nests, just enough room for them to get in and lay. Not room for two chickens at the same time. I put hay in my boxes, that I bend and shape into a nest. They don't really kick it out, and there is enough cushion to prevent cracking on laying.

I would put your cracked eggs in the fridge, as long as the eggs are not real dirty, use them as I would any egg. If you are concerned, simply crack the egg into a cup before cooking it to make sure it is not rotten. Cooking will kill most germs, so unless you are eating them raw there is not much to worry about.

MrsK

Could just be new layer issues.

Your thoughts are good and I'd start with the easiest options. I think a softer landing for the eggs would be my first project.

Here some other ideas:

Hope this helps

http://www.thepoultrysite.com/publications/1/egg-quality-handbook/14/hairline-cracks