Holding my goose and Gander

Discussion in 'Geese' started by gigglssmls, Mar 7, 2013.

1. gigglssmls

gigglssmls Out Of The Brooder

Oct 28, 2012
    I am a novice still with my fowl as I have been a fowl owner for about 6-7 months now and study a lot. However, although my geese are not aggressive... he TRIED but I let him know I was the BOSS real quick like..... I am having a LOT of trouble picking them up. My goose is VERY large Embden and is pretty heavy... she is also a bit timid and sweet. Is there a way or method of building a trust that would ease my attempts at interacting with them by petting and or holding them? I know they love me and are not afraid of me per sy as they follow me everywhere but I have bonded with my chickens and hold them regularly. I even have one that jumps up into my arms if I am near her in the coop or in my chair outside. I want to build that kind of bond with my geese too. Any suggestions my friends.

By the way thank you in advance for those of you who not only read my post but also answer my post.... it seems that usually I MIGHT get 1 answer [​IMG]

God Bless,
    Michelle

2. RURU

RURU Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 25, 2011
    Troy, Missouri
    My Coop
    Hi Michelle,
    With geese you have to keep picking them up all the time from the time of being hatched out and holding them in your lap. One thing geese like to keep their feet on the ground. If you pick them up make sure you hold them securly then put the goose on your lap. They are screamers when you pick them up. But if use to it will do much better. But do not feed them from your hand. You can pet them on their neck and back and rub their chest if they are totally use to it. But if you only do it every now and then they will not let you hold them or pet them....

This is my experience so maybe others will chime in about it. Good luck to you and enjoy your geese.

Last edited: Mar 7, 2013
    1 person likes this.
  3. CelticOaksFarm