Hole picked into my egg! Why?

Fombellchicks

Chirping
11 Years
Mar 7, 2008
Western PA
I found this egg today with a hole punched/picked into it.

Can anybody tell me why chickens sometimes do that? Just out of curiosity?

The shell is just a bit punched in, exposing the air cell, the inner membrane that contains the egg yolk & egg white is still intact. Kind of like a slightly cracked egg that did not leak that you sometimes see in the store box.

Any reason why I should have not eat this egg?
7095_egg_dec_13_picker.jpg

Try putting some golf balls or fake eggs in the nest box, I had a hen that was doing this during the summer and I put some in, that fixed the problem !!

If it is a hen pecking it try fixing it now, once the start to peck/eat them it's very hard to break !!

It should be fine to eat, I would eat it soon wouldnt let it sit to long. I use to give the pecked ones to the dog !!

I'm no expert, but I have a different theory. I've had 2 or 3 eggs that have a very thin spot on that end of the egg. I mean a VERY thin, tiny spot. Chickens peck spots. They just can't help it. Mine didn't peck them, but I may have just grabbed 'em up before they noticed the "spot". I have no idea what causes that spot. I'm curious to know. I wonder if you've noticed any similar spot on the end of your eggs?

I have had a few pecked before but I think in my case it is just the hens being too rough when they are rearranging the eggs that are in the nest when they go in to lay. None of mine have ever been eaten (that I am aware of) of I have not worried about it. I just put them in the fridge and use those first.

Ok, I checked the shell - that part where the whole/indent was does not appear any thinner than the rest of the shell.