Home Made Incubator Novice Hatch

DIYCHRIS

Chirping
8 Years
Mar 2, 2015
Hi everyone I'm new to keeping and raising chickens and have recently made an incubator and added my first eggs. I purchased a Styrofoam box from an online manufacturer then added a thermostat that I found on Ebay and that seems to be accurate enough to keep my incubator within .6c. For humidity I've just put in two jars and keep topping them up as needed. My humidity has so far been kept within 40-55%. As you can see from the pic I've cut a v shaped hole in the lid of the incubator for free flow of air and to keep my humidity as accurate as possible. I used something I found in a kitchen draw as an vent that was part of an old blender or something. I can open and close it to restrict or increase air flow , I attached it into place using a nut and bolt and it seems to work really good. For the heat I chose to go with a heat mat, I took an old PC fan and wired it up to an old phone charger to keep the temperature consistent throughout. The total cost was around £35-£40. It was very simple to put together and ten days ago I added 12 eggs and have ten eggs that are fertile and they seem to be doing fine. I cracked open the eggs that had no signs of growth and they were infertile. Any suggestions for improvements would be helpful

Last edited: