"Honking" Hen

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by tiadragon, Jul 24, 2008.

1. tiadragon

tiadragon New Egg

May 21, 2008
    I'm not sure that this truly qualifies as behavior, but I wasn't sure where else to pose my question.

I've noticed recently that one of our hens (approx 4 months old) has begun making a honking noise in the back of her throat. The first time I heard it, I thought maybe she is having species confusion...but we have no ducks near us. Seriously, though, I'm worried that it may be something dire that I don't know anything about (can you tell this is my first time with chickens?)

She is eating, drinking and pooping normally. Bright eyes, mellow-to-slightly-high-strung personality, and no change in social behavior. The one added strangeness, however, is that she now only has two tail feathers - which I'm not sure if she plucked or if they were plucked for her. Could this be a reordering thing? (We just removed one of our birds a few weeks ago when he found his voice - no roos in the City!)

Thanks for your thoughts!

2. fullhouse

fullhouse Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2008
    MI
    Our sussex all honk.

3. moodusnewchick

moodusnewchick Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 15, 2008
    CT
    My Jersey Giant honks. her brother is the roo though, so I don't know if that places a part in the sound

4. juliechick

juliechick Transplanted Hillbilly

Jun 27, 2008
    Southeast AR
    It's fun to know that all your Sussex honk, fullhouse. I have one Sussex pullet that started making a funny noise right after she stopped making chick sounds. I thought her voice might be changing.[​IMG]
    I named her Chank because I thought that's what it sounded like she was saying.

5. plucky

plucky Out Of The Brooder

Mar 30, 2008
    Arkansas