How Do You Clean Your Brooder?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chickaroo!, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Chickaroo!

Chickaroo! Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 27, 2007
    This is my first time raising chicks. I currently have 3 grown chickens and cleaning their coop is so easy. Thier poo is much larger, obviously, and I use a kitty litter scoop to clean.

But, how do you clean a chick brooder? Their poo is so tiny and in the pine shavings, I can hardly see it. How do I scoop it out without being wasteful of the shavings?

2. farmerwannabe

farmerwannabe Out Of The Brooder

Mar 15, 2008
    Eastern PA
    I'm fairly new to this, so my answer may not be the best, but I've been doing a lot of wasting... I take all the shavings out and replace with fresh shavings. I'll be interested to hear what others do.

3. RobinEgg

RobinEgg Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2008
    I have a kitty scoop and rake out all the soiled litter and replace with new weekly. You may want to wear a mask(it's best if you do). If i notice that the litter is really soiled or wet I change it sooner, I also add some from time to time to keep dry. Important things are dry and no molded foods and in my case(they're in my basment) smell

4. thechickenchick

thechickenchick Born city, Living country

Mar 8, 2008
    Eaton, Colorado
    I just clean out the whole thing too. Shavings and all. It doesnt have to be done as often as you might think. In fact I just added fresh shavings for a few days. Then cleaned out the whole thing and started fresh, every 5 or 6 days. Of coarse it depends on the # of chicks and size of brooder. Ours was rather large and held 12 chicks.

5. JustChicky

JustChicky Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2008
    East Texas
    I clean all of the shavings out once a week.

I add a little bit of new pine shavings everyday and I stir the whole thing up 2 or 3 times a day.