How long can I keep my colored rangers?

kimslack

Songster
10 Years
Oct 13, 2009
Western NY
I have only 11 colored rangers and they are about 11 weeks by week's end. This is my first time with meat chickens and I only got a few so I could try raising them. I'd like to slaughter throughout the summer and early Fall. My neighbors say that I'll have to continue feeding them the broiler feed which is kind of expensive.

Is it better to slaughter all at once in the next two weeks or so or can I let them grow more thru the summer and into Sept and Oct when I believe they will become roasters? I have them in a chicken tractor (these are the most expensive chicken dinners I've ever eaten LOL) Is the meat quality better now or will the meat be just as good in later months?
Kim

The older the bird , the tougher it will be. Aging in the refrigerator for 2-3 days, then Long and slow cooking will be most beneficial.

Taste should actually improve with time. I don't know if they develop problems as they get older (mine are about 14 weeks now), but heritage breeds aren't all that tough through the age of 20 to 24 weeks. So, lacking any problems attendant with this particular hybrid, seems to me they would be fine through that age.

Just real real big.
big_smile.png

I'm not sure why you would need to feed them broiler feed once you get them to the size you want them, though.

A long time,,, as long as they are wrapped in the freezer properly,
lol.png

Remember MEATIE birds are designed for fast growth, longer they live, the harder it is on their bodies, hearts legs etc... ever see some of the meaties with bowed legs? heavy birds have a short life span. Let it live along time and you end up with a tough bird. 8-13 weeks is a broad brush stroke for most meaties. Rangers given free range growing will do well at 13 weeks, where a ration of feed, available at all times, in a smallish sized coop, (not much exercise) can put on weight in 6-8 weeks.