How long does a chicken lay?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by NewHobbyForMe, Aug 22, 2010.

1. NewHobbyForMe

NewHobbyForMe Songster

Oct 10, 2009
    Missouri
    I've got 1 year olds that are just now starting to molt. Neighbor said they won't lay after molting [​IMG] please tell me this is NOT true. I will not eat my pets I've raised for a year [​IMG]
    They have been great layers, RIPs, BOs, BRs please reply Thank You

2. buckabucka

buckabucka Crowing 8 Years

Jan 13, 2010
    Fairfield, Maine
    My Coop
    They only stop laying for a while during the molt. I don't know how long, - I am new to chickens (ours don't even lay yet!). But then they start laying again. Someone else will know how long it will be.

3. I am new to chickens but I can say for a fact Buff Orpingtons can go through a molt and then return to being great layers, mine have already done that and my RIR and Russian Orloffs too.

I was told my Russian Orloffs would be terrible layers and they have been doing great, so perhaps not all chickens are the same or your neighbor doesn't know what he is talking about. Good thing there is BYC in the world, huh?

4. CricketYang

CricketYang Songster

Jul 16, 2010
    Mason, MI
    Actually after their first molt your eggs will be even better! They'll be bigger and have a nice shape. Maybe the lady you spoke to meant that they wouldn't lay during a molt. Heck, my Jen is molting right now and she still gives me about 2-3 eggs a week. The molt could last anywhere between 4-12 weeks.

5. justbugged

justbugged Head of the Night Crew for WA State

Jan 27, 2009
    Enumclaw
    I have a hen that is still laying daily at the age of 10 years. She is the most reliable of the girls this year.

6. Alabama ee

Alabama ee Songster

Feb 18, 2010