How long does corid take to show improvements

Island Chicken Mom

In the Brooder
Jun 11, 2023
Greetings!
I am seeking medical advice from someone with more experience than I.

Background:
Have a 3 year old rooster that is an indoor pet. We take many walks outdoors on the beach, allowing for sunbathing, dustbathing and hunting.
While indoors he eats chicken feed and has access to cold fresh water at all times.
Situation:

I noticed 48 hours ago he was acting not himself. Taking a hard turn yesterday.
-Not wanting to crow
Not eating or drinking
- Has diarrhea that is yellow and bright green in color. (I am not experienced but I read that is the bile in the stomach, so an empty stomach).
- Puffed up
- Head tucked into wing

What I have done thus far:
We do not have a vet on the island that will treat birds/chickens. Along with our limited supplies in stores to feed and treat livestock. So I consulted an experienced individual with the Avian species at our local humane society.
I was recommended some home treatments until medicine could arrive, (its kind of the island way, try what you can in case the medicine takes too long to arrive.)
If I am allowed to share I can in the comments the advice given.
This morning the recommended medicine arrived called “Corid”. He has taken a dose of 1 ml. I am wondering when changes in his behavior should start to show? This morning before the corid arrived he did crow! I take that as SOME improvement, yet he is still not willing to eat, or drink and just wants to rest.

Additional things I have checked for:
  • He has no mites, fleas or lice
  • His vent looks the same as it always has
  • I DID notice his feed had molded at the bottom of the bin, it was dumped asap and new feed has been provided. Still has not touched it.
  • His comb is still red, I do see color draining from his face though