How many boxes?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Shane17, Jan 22, 2012.

1. Shane17

Shane17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 14, 2012
    Im new to raising chickens. im finishing up the coop and was preparing to build there nesting boxes. Should there be a nesting box for each hen in the coop? Im planning on starting out with 6 hens. Thanks for any help!

2. RWD

RWD Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 2, 2011
    Wartrace TN.
    Ususally I put 1 nest per 4 hens, but some people put 1 nest per six hens. Not an exact science, but you do not need one for each hen.

3. Chemguy

Chemguy Chillin' With My Peeps

May 30, 2011
    Springfield, Ohio
    I have 4 boxes for 8 hens. That's overkill, but they do seem to use them all. The preferred box is always the one that has an egg in it.

4. I follow the 1 to 4 rule as well. I will say though that if you plan to have breeds that are prone to go broody easy, then you may want to throw in a couple extra.

5. Tambo26

Tambo26 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2011
    Orrington, MAINE
    [​IMG]
    I have 3 Buff Orpington hens and started out with one nest box. Then I realized they were fighting to use that one nest box to the point of one hen straddling the other like she was riding a horse! I put a second nest box in and they STILL fought to use the one, so I took the second back out so they would have more space. The above picture is what I found this morning again. It's pretty comical to watch. So I don't know the answer to how many nest boxes... For six hens I would say three if you have plenty of room.

6. CountryRoosterUSA

CountryRoosterUSA Chillin' With My Peeps

1 nest for 4 girls, as noted above by bairo, that is usually the going rule.

7. Shane17

Shane17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 14, 2012
    thanks for the info! So im figuring on building 2 boxes and go from there. I am starting with 6 like i said but most likely the flock will grow from there! Thanks again.

8. OldGuy43